Home‎ > ‎Announcements‎ > ‎

2 Wire Sailing (Tomko and Billings) Win the 2013 Great Texas

posted Jun 16, 2013, 6:02 AM by Steve Piche
Congratulations to Team 2 Wire Sailing, skipper John Tomko and crew Ian Billings for winning the 2013 Great Texas.  John and Ian dominated the F18 fleet throughout the race.  However, Team Chums, Lee Wicklund and David Cerdes sailing on a Nacra 20, did give them a run for their money for line honors.  Chums was first to the beach on Leg 1 and Leg 2. Team Chums also took home the first place trophy in the open class.

Team 2 Wire Sailing also collected the trophy for fastest elapsed time and first in the F18 class.  Also collecting trophies were Quiksilver, Mike Beuerlein and Philippe Bettle, second place in F18 class, Team Monkey Business, Steve Piche and Juke Ball, third place in F18 class, and Team Sailboat Shop, Mike Rohr and Chris Holt, fourth in the F18 class.

The race was held mostly in light to medium conditions.  No boats broke down and everyone was able to finish all legs including our first woman skipper, Ingrid Bakker.

The 2014 Great Texas will start on the Wednesday before Father's day next year.  Hope to see you there!